Towns in Australia

Exploring Australia, town by town

Cootamundra NSW


Located in the Wagga Wagga area of New South Wales, Cootamundra is in the Temora local government area, and within the electoral seat of Riverina.

Cootamundra at a glance

Postcode 2590
Latitude -34.766667
Longitude 147.85
Altitude 418.1980286 (metres above sea level)

Population of Cootamundra NSW

At the 2021 national census, the population of 2590 (Including Cootamundra) was 7153 people. Out of those, 3512 were male and 3639 were female.

494 (6.91%) of those people were born outside Australia, and the remaining 6118 people were born in Australia. 550 (7.69%) of these people are Indigenous Australians.

Map of Cootamundra

Here is a map of Cootamundra, New South Wales and surrounds.

View Larger Map


Want to correct something or add more detail about Cootamundra or elsewhere in New South Wales? We welcome your input – please get in touch!