Towns in Australia

Exploring Australia, town by town

The Rock NSW

About The Rock

Postcode 2655

The Rock is a town in New South Wales, 480km from the capital city of Sydney and 32km from Wagga Wagga. The town was originally called Kingston up until 1919.

Guess why it’s named the Rock? You’re right! There’s a large rocky outcrop on a hill nearby, called (imaginatively) The Rock Hill. First nations owners call this area Yerong in the local language.

The Rock is a railway junction point of the Boree Creek line, and is served by the twice daily Melbourne to/from Sydney service.

The Rock Hill is a popular attraction in the area for bird watching, bush-walking and rock-climbing.

Time in The Rock

The time in The Rock is the same throughout NSW, which is GMT +11.

The Rock New South Wales