Towns in Australia

Exploring Australia, town by town

Atherton QLD


Postcode: 4883

Atherton is the hub of the Atherton Tableland region in Queensland, Australia. Its population is approximately 5,800 persons. The climate is tropical. Atherton was named after one of its founders, John Atherton, and it became a town on February 23, 1886. Built on the side of an extinct volcano it is surrounded by several small hills known as the Seven Sisters. These volcanic mountains attract tourists.

The Atherton Tableland is an ideal recreation area for all tourists, offering a wide range of natural and man made attractions, including: waterfalls, extinct volcanic craters, historic mining towns, museums, bird life, wild life, and rainforests in the National Parks.

Each year towards the end of August, Atherton celebrates the Maize festival, which features a parade with decorated floats, the Maize Queen pageant, some children’s amusement rides and some activities such as tug of war and wood chopping. There are also shop window display and artwork competitions as well as a prize given to the best float.

Atherton is in the Australian House of Representatives Division of Kennedy and the Queensland Legislative Assembly Electoral district of Tablelands. Atherton is the seat of the Atherton Shire Council. The council comprises seven councillors elected from three divisions. The current Mayor is Cr Jim Chapman, and the current Deputy Mayor is Cr Louise de Marzi. The Atherton Shire Council was known as the Tinaroo Shire Council until 1935.