Maryborough was settled in 1847 and is one of Queensland’s oldest provincial cities. Located three hours from Brisbane, Maryborough was a major immigration port into Australia and a visit to the Wharf Street Precinct retains many reminders of this period. Once the lifeblood of the town, the Mary River is still a haven for pleasure craft, a source of excellent freshwater fishing and a beautiful back drop for a lovely city.
Today, Maryborough is widely recognised for the abundant examples of colonial and Queenslander architecture, majestic public buildings and beautiful gardens. Much of the city’s character has been preserved in these classic buildings, mostly built of local timber in a range of sizes and designs. Take a peek into the good old days at Brennan and Geraghty’s Store, a time-capsule corner store, preserved by the National Trust. Or discover the fascinating port history of Maryborough at the Bond Store Museum and Customs House in the Wharf Street precinct.
Maryborough’s industrial base was established over one hundred years ago and although diversified today, still retains the original base industries of engineering, sugar and timber. Olds Engine House displays a collection of famous models by Australia’s foremost model engineer, William Olds. The engineering works and foundry, which are still operating, have a reputation for variety and quality and are fascinating for all visitors.