Towns in Australia

Exploring Australia, town by town

University of Queensland QLD

University of Queensland

Postcode: 4072

The University of Queensland (UQ) is the longest-established university in the state of Queensland, Australia, a member of Australia’s Group of Eight, and the Sandstone universities. It is also a founding member of the international Universitas 21 organisation.

The University has its main campus in the suburb of St Lucia, in Brisbane. Its other campuses include Ipswich, Gatton, Herston, South Brisbane, Turbot Street and Moggill.

UQ was established on December 10, 1909, with Sir William MacGregor as first chancellor (with Reginald Heber Roe as vice-chancellor) and was originally situated in Brisbane’s downtown area. In 1927, the land on which the St Lucia campus is built was resumed by the Brisbane City Council using money donated by James O’Neil Mayne and his sister Mary Emelia Mayne to replace the less spacious city campus (now home to the Gardens Point campus of the Queensland University of Technology).

UQ is one of Australia’s top five research intensive universities. It contains many joint and collaborative research centres, such as the Institute for Molecular Bioscience (which conducts research jointly with CSIRO), the Australian Institute for Bioengineering and Nanotechnology (AIBN) and the Queensland Brain Institute (QBI). In addition, UQ is involved in centres such as the Queensland Institute of Medical Research at the Royal Brisbane Hospital.