Wilston, a suburb of Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, is located approximately three kilometres from the Brisbane central business district, and is a mixture of the old and the new, from workers’ cottages to modern architect-designed homes on Wilston Hill.
Besides being home to Premier Peter Beattie, Wilston is also home to many other professionals, including many medical professionals, due to its inner city location, proximity to the Royal Brisbane Hospital and the breathtaking views of the city that are available from more elevated streets.
In recent years, the area has been transformed by the revamping of Kedron Brook Road, an early pre-cursor to the City Council’s massive urban renewal process that was to roll out across much of inner Brisbane. This has seen a vibrant hub of al-fresco dining evolve, which in turn has increased the popularity of the area and led to a significant increase in the cost of housing in recent years.
Local stores in the area are supplemented by larger centres at Lutwyche Shopping Centre and slightly further away at Stafford and Brookside.
Residents are also well serviced by public transport (Wilston train station and regular bus routes) and leisure parks and walkways running alongside Enoggera Creek. The area is also close to local sporting grounds such as Downey Park and Ballymore.
According to the 2001 Census there were 3,311 people living in the suburb with a median age of 33. The median individual income was between $500 and $599 per week. Of all occupied private dwellings 60% were either fully owned or being purchased; 35% were being rented.
The Turrbal clan occupied the northern side of the Brisbane River. Whites often referred to this clan as the ‘Duke of York’s’ clan and the clan leader was known as the Duke of York. The Turrbal people had camping grounds around the Breakfast Creek area and the explorers Oxley and Cunningham met members of the clan at the mouth of the creek in 1824. The main encampment of the Turrbal clan was in ‘Yorks Hollow’. This gully passes through Victoria Park and the Royal National Association Showgrounds at Bowen Hills. In 1858 two Aborigines, Dalinkua and Dalpie from the Breakfast Creek area, wrote letters to The Moreton Bay Courier protesting about the treatment their people received at the hands of the white settlers.