Towns in Australia

Exploring Australia, town by town

Auburn SA


Postcode: 5451

Auburn is the name of a small town in the southern edge of the Clare Valley, in the Mid North of South Australia. It is approximately 109 kilometres from the state’s capital, Adelaide and 27 kilometres south of the town of Clare. There are five sealed roads which enter the town, including the Main North Road. Auburn is dissected by the Wakefield River as it makes its way to the sea at Port Wakefield and the southern end of the Riesling Trail also begins here, along side the former railway station, which is now a winery cellar door.

Auburn was also the birthplace of Australian poet, C. J. Dennis, who lived for a time in the former Auburn Hotel, which has since been demolished. A small tributory of the Wakefield River, Dennis Creek runs through the town and was named in honour of his father, who was the hotel publican.

Auburn is in the District Council of Clare and Gilbert Valleys, the state electoral district of Frome, and the Australian House of Representatives Division of Grey.