Towns in Australia

Exploring Australia, town by town

Cootra SA


Located in the Eyre Peninsula and South West area of South Australia, Cootra is in the Wudinna local government area, and within the electoral seat of Grey.

Cootra at a glance

Postcode: 5650

Latitude: -33.2662537

Longitude: 135.9467527

Altitude: 94 (metres above sea level)

Population of Cootra SA

At the 2021 national census, the population of 5650 (Including Cootra) was 167 people. Out of those, 95 were male and 77 were female.

0 (0.00%) of those people were born outside Australia, and the remaining 136 people were born in Australia. 0 (0.00%) of these people are Indigenous Australians.

Map of Cootra

Here is a map of Cootra, South Australia and surrounds.

View Larger Map


Want to correct something or add more detail about Cootra or elsewhere in South Australia? We welcome your input – please get in touch!