Towns in Australia

Exploring Australia, town by town

Mimili SA


Postcode: 5710

Mimili is an Aboriginal community in the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Lands in South Australia, comprising one of the six main communities on “The Lands” (the others being Amata, Ernabella/ Pukatja, Fregon/ Kaltjiti, Indulkana and Pipalyatjara).

Mimili is situated 70 kilometres west of the Stuart Highway and is approximately 1 hour’s drive from Marla Bore. Mimili is situated amongst mountains in the Everard Ranges.

Based upon the climate records of the nearest weather station at Marla Police Station, Mimili experiences summer maximum temperatures of an average of 37.1 degrees celsius in January and a winter maximum average temperature of 19.7 degrees celsius in June. Overnight lows range from a mean minimum temperature of 21.8 degrees in January to 5.0 degrees in June. Annual rainfall averages 222.6 millimetres.

Mimili’s population is approximately 300 people. The residents are mainly Anangu people who speak either Pitjantjatjara or Yankunytjatjara as their first language.

2001 Australian Bureau of Statistics Census data indicated that Mimili had one of the highest proportions of 0-14 year olds in South Australia (32.6%), the lowest median weekly income ($172 AUD compared with a Statewide average of $345), one of the highest proportions of indigenous Austrailan residents (89.8%) and near-equal highest ratio of Australian-born residents (98.1%). Mimili has one of the State’s lowest rates of home personal computer usage (5.3%) and the State’s highest ratio of single-parent families (36.0% compared with a Statewide average of 15.6%).

According to the Aboriginal people, Mimili was the name the area was always known as. It is described as the site of the “maku” or “witchetty grub” dreaming. After European settlement, a cattle station called “Everard Park” was operated in the area – giving its name to the mountain range that surrounds what is now the township of Mimili. Mimili was returned to the ownership of the traditional owners in 1972.