Towns in Australia

Exploring Australia, town by town

Pipalyatjara SA


Postcode: 5710

Pipalyatjara is an Aboriginal community in the Anangu Pitjantjatjara Yankunytjatjara Lands in South Australia, comprising one of the six main communities on “The Lands” (the others being Amata, Ernabella/Pukatja, Fregon/ Kaltjiti, Indulkana and Mimili).

Pipalyatjara is situated approximately 550 kilometres south-west of Alice Springs. Pipalyatjara is also situated approximately 30 kilometres from the junction of the South Australian, Western Australian and Northern Territory borders (known as the Surveyor-General’s Corner). The community of Kalka is situated some 15 kilometres away (by road, on the north side of the mountain ridge to which Pipalyatjara lies to the south). Both communities are situated within the Tomkinson Ranges.

Little is known about how the traditional owners and other peoples came to have a settlement at what is now known as Pipalyatjara.

Pipalyatjara was formerly known as Mount Davies, named after the tallest local peak.

Chrysoprase was mined at Pipalyatjara until recently.

Pipalyatjara’s population is approximately 140-150 people. The residents are mainly Anangu people who speak mainly Pitjantjatjara as their first language.