Towns in Australia

Exploring Australia, town by town

Stirling SA


Postcode: 5152

Stirling (sometimes called Stirling West) is a town in the Adelaide Hills District Council. Its population is about 2500, though the town has largely merged with neighbouring townships such as Crafers and Aldgate.

Founded in 1854 , Stirling grew rapidly as a result of the expansion of apple growing and market gardening to satisfy the demand of the expanding city of Adelaide, whose centre is only 15 kilometres from Stirling. It was also developed as a residence for Englishmen who could not cope with Adelaide’s hot summers. Today, farming has declined as more of the region has been urbanised, with many Stirling residents commuting to Adelaide daily.

Owing to the wet and mild climate, many deciduous trees have been imported from Europe, and these are a major tourist attraction in the autumn. Other tourist sites include the nearby Belair National Park and Cleland Conservation Park.

Stirling is located in the state electorate of Heysen and in the federal Division of Mayo. The local council is the Adelaide Hills Council (formerly Stirling Council) in the Mt Lofty and Manoah wards.