Towns in Australia

Exploring Australia, town by town

Taplan SA


Postcode: 5333

Taplan ( 34°32’S, 140°52’E, postcode 5333, altitude 68m) is a town in the Murray Mallee region of South Australia near the border with Victoria. Taplan is an aboriginal word meaning grass tree. The town was laid out by Henry George in 1914.

Taplan is in the District Council of Loxton Waikerie local government area, the South Australian House of Assembly electoral district of Chaffey and the Australian House of Representatives Division of Barker.

Taplan is 752 km from the Australian capital Canberra. Nearby places include Ingalta, Meribah, Nadda, Paruna, Roseneath.