Towns in Australia

Exploring Australia, town by town

Wye SA


Postcode: 5291

Wye is a town located in South Australia, Australia. It is in the Hundred of Caroline and the County of Grey. Its Local Government Authority is the Colac Otway Shire Council.

The town’s name is either derived from the Welsh word for ‘water’ or from the Anglo-Saxon word waeg, meaning ‘wave’. The town was surveyed in 1869.