Towns in Australia

Exploring Australia, town by town

Hobart TAS


Postcode: 7000

Hobart is the capital and most populous city of Tasmania. Founded in 1803 as a penal colony, Hobart is Australia’s second oldest capital city after Sydney. In 2006, the city had a greater area population of approximately 205,566.

The city is the financial and administrative heart of Tasmania, and also serves as the home port for both Australian and French Antarctic operations.

The city is located in the state’s south-east on the estuary of the Derwent River. The skyline is dominated by Mount Wellington at 1,271 metres high.