Towns in Australia

Exploring Australia, town by town

Otago TAS


Located in the Central Highlands (Tas.) area of Tasmania, Otago is in the Southern Midlands local government area, and within the electoral seat of Lyons.

Otago at a glance

Postcode: 7017

Latitude: -42.775033

Longitude: 147.3698281

Altitude: (metres above sea level)

Population of Otago TAS

At the 2021 national census, the population of 7017 (Including Otago) was 6300 people. Out of those, 3143 were male and 3155 were female.

647 (10.27%) of those people were born outside Australia, and the remaining 5478 people were born in Australia. 269 (4.27%) of these people are Indigenous Australians.

Map of Otago

Here is a map of Otago, Tasmania and surrounds.

View Larger Map


Want to correct something or add more detail about Otago or elsewhere in Tasmania? We welcome your input – please get in touch!