Towns in Australia

Exploring Australia, town by town

Morwell VIC


Postcode: 3840

Morwell is a city in central Gippsland, a region in the east of Victoria. Morwell is situated in the heart of Victoria’s energy centre, the Latrobe Valley. It is also the administrative centre for Latrobe City. The name Morwell is believed to have been derived from the Aboriginal term More willie, meaning ‘woolly possum’.

The earliest inhabitants of the Morwell district were the Gunai Indigenous Australians. Their first contact with Europeans would have been with pastoralists who came south from the Monaro region of New South Wales in the 1840s in search of pasture for their stock.

The development of the Yallourn open cut coal mine and power station in the 1920s contributed to Morwell’s development, providing employment and trade.

Morwell is the headquarters of the Central Gippsland Institute of Technical and Further Education. It contains a major regional art gallery with an excellent local collection and is noted for its extensive rose gardens. Nearby at Churchill is the Gippsland Campus of Monash University.