Towns in Australia

Exploring Australia, town by town

Three Springs WA

Three Springs

Postcode: 6519

Three Springs is a small, northern wheat belt town located four hours’ drive north of Perth, around 60 kilometres east of Eneabba. From late July through to September, the area’s rich soil presents a beautiful display of wildflowers which can be viewed on a heritage trail from the town centre, or from Cockatoo Canyon which is located 32 kilometres from the Three Springs townsite.

Three Springs is the largest producer of talc in Australia. It has the largest talc mine in the southern hemisphere and the second largest in the world, with an annual production of more than 240,000 tonnes. Talc from Three Springs is exported for use in the paper, paint and ceramic industries. The local hotel/motel and caravan park are available for visitors’ accommodation.

If you’re planning a visit, make sure you pack your sluicing pan, metal detector and pick axe because there’s still plenty of gold and gemstones left around here. The many-hued Yarra Yarra Lakes, just a couple of kilometres out of town, owe their colours which range from red to dark blue to the mineral content in the water. The lakes are a haven for flocks of migratory birds. Three Springs is at the heart of some of WA’s best wildflower country, too, and it is a delight to the eye up here, especially during August and September, when they put on their magnificently colourful displays.